//
you're reading...
Literature, Philosophy, Photos, Poetry

The Paradox Of Silence

The silence betrays a sense of lingering unease
Every boom that tears through it
Is then a dash of happy
Its loneliness I am scared of
And silence is a harbinger

The sound is annoying
The silence, reassuring
And yet too much of silence is somehow
Just like sound
The ears hurt
And the eyes tear

We need sounds and we need people
We need things to not be still for a little while
We need walls to not be so yellow
We need the wind to blow
We need to feel alive

From silence I run away
But to silence I return
For even though it kills me
It also shows me
Who I really am

It makes me write
Even though the hackneyed expressions
Come to haunt me in my sleep

Silence is both infinitely alluring and despicable
Because the sound of the silence
Is both the ring master
And the raucous beasttumblr_nbcjqftEvV1s7f3fyo1_1280

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Paradox Of Silence

  1. What a thought-provoking piece. We need silence to hear ourselves, yet it’s too uncomfortable so we run away, in a vicious cycle. We need chatter to drown the emotions, but then we become numb and disoriented and need to retreat. I hope you write more on this topic of loneliness and emotions for I really like your succinct way of writing 😖

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Midnight Blahs | November 7, 2014, 8:52 am

Leave a Reply

